Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards Scholarships

Participating colleges

Australian Catholic University
Aviation Australia
Bond University
Box Hill Institute TAFE
Bureau of Meteorology
Canberra Institute of Technology
Carnegie Mellon University
Central Queensland University
Charles Darwin University
Charles Sturt University
Chisholm Institute of TAFE
Curtin University of Technology
Deakin University
Edith Cowan University
Federation University
Flinders University
Griffith University
Holmesglen Institute of TAFE
James Cook University
Kangan Institute
La Trobe University
Macquarie University
Melbourne Polytechnic
Monash University
Murdoch University
Queensland University of
RMIT University
Southern Cross University
Swinburne University of Technology
TAFE Queensland
Tasmanian Polytechnic
The Australian National University
The Gordon Institute of TAFE
The University of Adelaide
The University of Melbourne
The University of New England
The University of New South Wales
(including ADFA)
The University of Newcastle
The University of Queensland
The University of Sydney
The University of Western Australia
University College London
University of Canberra
University of South Australia
University of Southern Queensland
University of Tasmania (including
the Australian Maritime College)
University of Technology Sydney
University of The Sunshine Coast
University of Wollongong
Victoria University
Western Sydney University
William Angliss Institute of TAFE

Participating countries and qualifications

Check here if your country is eligible for undergraduate scholarships

Scholarship benefits

  • full tuition fees for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program
  • return air travel–payment of a single return, economy class airfare to and from Australia, via the most direct route
  • a once only payment as a contribution towards accommodation expenses, text books, study materials
  • a fortnightly contribution to basic living expenses paid at a rate determined by the department.
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) for the duration of the award provided to cover the scholar’s basic medical costs
  • Pre-course English (PCE) fees–if deemed necessary PCE may be available for students for in-country and/or in-Australia training
  • and more…

Eligibility criteria

Read the Australia Awards Scholarship Policy Handbook here

Application process

  • Check the opening and closing dates for your country, and select your country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries for specific information on eligibility, priority areas and how to apply. See the participating countries page for opening and closing dates.
  • If you intend to apply, you must read the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook. The handbook provides information including general eligibility requirements, selection processes, entitlements and responsibilities. Note that the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade may revise and update the handbook at any time without notice.
  • Some countries encourage and allow you to apply online while others require hard-copy applications. See your participating country profile for more information

Applying online

  • Register through this link. When you register online, you will be required to answer some questions to establish your eligibility. You will then be given a unique registration number, username and password.
  • You do not need to submit your application immediately. You can set up a draft application form and update it, and your supporting documentation, until the designated closing date as on the relevant participating country profile.

Applying by mail

  • If you are unable to submit your application online, you can apply by mail. Please check your participating country profile for contact details to obtain a hardcopy application form and any other templates such as referee reports (if applicable).
  • Completed hard copy application forms and supporting documentation must be submitted by the deadline specified by your country. See the opening and closing dates for each country.

Award conditions

  • Applicants who want to accept an Australia Awards Scholarship will need to sign a contract with the Commonwealth of Australia declaring that they will comply with the conditions of the scholarship.
  • Scholars are required to leave Australia for a minimum of two years after completing their scholarship. Failure to do so will result in the scholar incurring a debt for the total accrued cost of their scholarship.

Opening date

February 2021

Due date

May 2021


August 2021

For more information

Scholarship website

Tags :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *